We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Complete newbie to Norfolk!

Isle of Man
Level Contributor
200 posts
218 reviews
Save Topic
Complete newbie to Norfolk!

Hello, thinking about going to Norfolk for a week in September with my dog. I've never been to the area before and don't know anything about it so I was hoping for advice about which would be the best area to stay as a base. I'm particularly interested in knowing about the dog-friendliness of the area - lots of the holiday cottages I've been looking at are dog friendly, but does anyone know if many of the pubs allow a dog in too? Do most of the beaches have summertime restrictions? Which are the most attractive villages/towns to stay in, and what recommendations do people have on things to do? Any advice would be welcomed, thanks! :)

middle england
Destination Expert
for Leicestershire, Norfolk
Level Contributor
3,488 posts
58 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Complete newbie to Norfolk!

Good choice! Just hope the weather improves! There are many beaches which have no restrictions on dogs - Holkham, for example, most peoples favourite, and Brancaster. Wells has a small restriction but a huge area without. Just don't venture on to the restricted part with a dog, or the beach guardians will shout at you! Both Holkham and Wells have wooded areas behind the beach with no dog restrictions. You will normally have to ;pay to park close to the beaches - there's a good if pricey cafe in the car park at Wells. Additionally you have access to the whole of the Norfolk Coast path which only asks that you keep dogs under control. You can use the coasthopper bus service between Hunstanton and Cromer, every 30 mins in the summer months, and dogs are free. Particularly recommended is the part from Stiffkey to Wells - splendid views as you approach Wells.