We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spend Autumn or Christmas in London? Your opinion

Traverse City...
Level Contributor
29 posts
83 reviews
Save Topic
Spend Autumn or Christmas in London? Your opinion

I've only been to London once. It was early May and gorgeous: great weather, spring flowers, not many tourists and lots of things to do.

I have a chance to go back this year, either in the fall (Sept or Oct) or early December. Considering the weather, scenery, crowds, and things to do -- which would you choose?

If it helps your recommendations, I'm a photographer, so getting beautiful shots of the city is important. But this is a vacation too. I love to explore the city, shop, hit the art galleries, people-watch, and go to the theater.

Traverse City...
Level Contributor
29 posts
83 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Spend Autumn or Christmas in London? Your opinion

Oh! I should've mentioned that I realise the weather will be warmer in the fall. But I thought perhaps the Christmas lights, decorations and excitement in December might make up for the cold.

Washington DC...
Level Contributor
5,456 posts
30 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Spend Autumn or Christmas in London? Your opinion

Tough decision, but I might have to say December simply due to the Christmas fairs and displays. And it's always fun to buy the charity cards from one of the churches.

Yet October has the fall colors and the Frieze Art Fair, and September has the London Open House where certain places are open to the public only during that time.

London
Level Contributor
146 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Spend Autumn or Christmas in London? Your opinion

I think this decision could be decided by budget, if that is an issue.

Autumn over here typically attracts lower hotel prices and cheaper flights across the atlantic.