We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Towns at the End of the (Tube) Line

Which London hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Chesterfield...
Level Contributor
100 posts
14 reviews
Save Topic
Towns at the End of the (Tube) Line

I've looked over the London Tube map and was hoping that somebody could suggest some towns that might be worth a visit that are accessible by the Tube.

I have no no knowledge (except for what I can glean from the Internet) of towns like Uxbridge, Chesham, High Barnet, Epping, and Upminster; all towns that are at the end of the Tube line. Does anyone have any favorites they can suggest?

Thanks!

London, United...
Destination Expert
for London
Level Contributor
3,822 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Towns at the End of the (Tube) Line

Richmond, on the end of one of the branches of the district line, is very nice. It's right by the river and has some great views and historic houses.

There's also Richmond Park where you can see deer roaming free.

http://www.visitrichmond.co.uk/richmond.asp

Essex
Level Contributor
27,142 posts
70 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Towns at the End of the (Tube) Line

Epping, definitely worth a visit, you can get into Epping forest and see enough deer, wild cattle, and other 'native' life to rival Richmond any day!!

Upminster is an OK small place, but I can't think of any special reason to go there.

Richmond is very nice, and you can have a lovely walk along the banks of the Thames.

Dunfermline, United...
Level Contributor
13,068 posts
38 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Towns at the End of the (Tube) Line

Mostly just the 'burbs. Epping is good if you want to see Epping Forest, although train to Chingford might be better.

Skutskar, Sweden
Level Contributor
2,265 posts
42 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Towns at the End of the (Tube) Line