We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aussie Needs Help With Clothing Layers!!

Which London hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3,200 posts
Save Topic
Aussie Needs Help With Clothing Layers!!

I have read quite a lot about dressing in layers for the cold UK winter weather, but living in Queensland, I have never experienced the cold weather that I am likely to experience when I visit London in a few weeks.

Gee, even in my workplace (I am a teacher), we don't have any heating at all and are used to dressing warmly (no layering) on those few days of coolish weather.

I have bought several woollen spencers to wear under shirts etc, but I am still a little confused when I read about dressing in layers.

I understand what this is all about, but how warm is the heating in shops, museums etc and most importantly what should the bottom layer consist of (keep it clean please)? Is thermal type clothing only worn when you expect to stay outside for the day? Are the tubes heated?

Thanks in advance.

Santiago, Chile
Destination Expert
for Chile
Level Contributor
10,274 posts
27 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Aussie Needs Help With Clothing Layers!!

Typical layers might be (from next to the skin out):

This is sort of a unisex list.

a long sleeved t-shirt (not thermal)

a long sleeved shirt, maybe a rugby type

a sleeveless sweater or fleece

an all weather jacket, something which will keep out wind and rain

Bottom

tights (pantyhose) for the ladies

jeans or corduroys

shoes with good thick soles, socks

The idea is that you can go into a museum where it might be quite warm and remove the jacket or even the sleeveless fleece or sweater. That way you won't roast. Most shops are very warm. But outside you will need both. But thermal would be too much.