We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heathrow to King's Cross timing question!

Which London hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
New York
Level Contributor
15 posts
Save Topic
Heathrow to King's Cross timing question!

Hello everybody,

I was hoping you might help me with some trip planning details. I have very little knowledge of London but I know many of you do.

I'm landing in Heathrow on an international flight next Wednesday at 11:45 AM. I will then proceed to take a train from London King's Cross to Edinburgh. Since it's an international flight, I'll need to go through customs and get my bag; I'll also want to use public transport to get to the city proper.

Considering these variables, what is a safe train to take, time-wise? Do you think I could easily make a 3:00 PM train at King's Cross, or would it be wiser to book a 4:00 PM train?

Thanks so much for your help!

Edited: 06 July 2010, 15:04
London
Level Contributor
2,186 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Heathrow to King's Cross timing question!

Have you considered flying from Heathrow to Edinburgh? Whichever you decide a flight or train at 4pm would be safer.

From Heathrow you take the tube (underground) direct to Kings Cross allow about an hour.

Glasgow
Level Contributor
2,826 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Heathrow to King's Cross timing question!

As long as your flight is on time this should be ok.

Figure on an hour to get through the airport.

You then get the Piccadilly line tube direct to King's Cross which will also take about an hour.

London
Level Contributor
9,694 posts
61 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Heathrow to King's Cross timing question!

If you going to be at Heathrow, it is a lot less hassle to just fly.