We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oyster Card and Heathrow Express

Which London hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Fayetteville, North...
Level Contributor
22 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Oyster Card and Heathrow Express

I am in the States and will visit London soon for a 14 day Vacay. I read that the Oyster card is the best way to get around on the Tube there. I also read that after landing in Heathrow Airport that they have an express there that only takes about 15 min or so from Airport to central London. I have been on the websites and It will not let me buy them unless I am a resident of the UK (I was trying to have them sent to me, so all I had to do was redeem them). Does anyone know if there is another way to get them or a website I could go to where I could order them to be sent to me in the States?

London
Destination Expert
for London
Level Contributor
20,731 posts
74 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Oyster Card and Heathrow Express

The Heathrow Express is not covered by London's transport system and requires a separate ticket. It is probably better to buy any tickets for travel around London once here (no chance of ticket not arriving and no postage/delivery charges).

If you can say where you are staying and how many are travelling the best travel options will be easier to advise. In the mean time I suggest you check out your options and consult some good guidebooks.

http://www.visitlondon.com/travel/

Upminster, United...
Level Contributor
11,284 posts
36 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Oyster Card and Heathrow Express

Firstly, the Heathrow Express take you to the very north west corner of central London and is only convenient if you are staying around Paddington. Also Oyster Cards are not valid on that train service.