We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Guided Tours vs. Going Solo

Which London hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Boston
Level Contributor
1,396 posts
27 reviews
Save Topic
Guided Tours vs. Going Solo

I am a newbie to this forum, so I apologize if this question has already been asked. I am turning 50 in September and I am having a British Birthday Bash, complete with Beatles cover band. For my present, I am planning on going to England, and of course one of my stops will have to be Liverpool.

I am trying to figure out which might be better, a guided tour, or just wing it on my own. I will be with my husband. I know this is very subjective and probably depends upon whether or not we like a strict schedule or not. I was just wondering if anyone had looked into the advantages/disadvantages and could give me their two cents. Do you think it is more economical to do a guided tour? Is it expensive to get around the country on our own. We won't be renting a car, so travel logistics may be easier on a motor coach??

This would be a first trip to England. Thank you for your replies.

Vancouver, Canada
Destination Expert
for London
Level Contributor
54,589 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Guided Tours vs. Going Solo

'Is it expensive to get around the country on our own?' It could be, if you hired a car (and paid for petrol [about £1.40 a litre], parking, Congestion Charge etc).

' .... may be easier on a motor coach ...' Cliff Richard may have wanted to go on a summer holiday, but I think now he would say no thank you to the idea of travelling long distances on National Express coaches.