We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nature's gyms in South England (hills, slopes, mountains)

Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
151 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Nature's gyms in South England (hills, slopes, mountains)

I loved Hampstead Heath with its hills. Going up and down Parliament Hill was really healthy.

I have done the same in Greenwich and some other hills within the M25 of London.

However, wanted to ask if you have any suggestions for such places a bit further away, so I can also visit other cities/towns at the same time.

Any suggestions?

Note: Really, really sorry if I ask questions which seem repetitive. I am new to London and have lots of free time outside studies & work. I really like traveling and discovering new places, and at the same time doing other things as well. Basically, sometimes I travel just for peace and quiet after work (5-6 PM), other times, to study, and other times also for historical pilgrimage.

I am not rich, but I spend my money on almost nothing else but traveling.

P.S.: I wonder whether there are any traveling clubs/ walking clubs that organize daily trips?

Sheffield
Level Contributor
4,467 posts
144 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Nature's gyms in South England (hills, slopes, mountains)

No mountains I'm afraid. Try the South Downs Way.

Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
151 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Nature's gyms in South England (hills, slopes, mountains)

Been there already :)

P.S.: I am really keen on exploring some new region each time I travel.

This is where I have already been to so far (outside London):

Birmingham, Stratford-upon-Avon, Oxford, Eastbourne (Seven Sisters, South Downs), Farnborough, Portsmouth, Isle of Wight, Southend on Sea (and walked around nearby towns), Rochester, Higham, Gravesend.

Edited: 11 September 2012, 12:48