We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Train from Heathrow to Southampton??

Which London hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
florida
Level Contributor
65 posts
22 reviews
Save Topic
Train from Heathrow to Southampton??

Hello all.

I am so glad I found this place.

Wed the 10th I am leaving for London (I'm an avid traveler but this is my first time to the UK).

I am going for work

When we arrive (I am taking my mother along as a mother's day present) (our non stop virgin atlantic flight comes in around 9am), we need to catch a train and head to Southampton to then get on a ferry for the Isle of Wight. Is there such a train?

We will each have 1 piece of carry on and 1 piece of regular luggage.

We will stay on the Isle of wight until the 13th(saturday) and head back to London on the 13th- sometime during mi-day or so.

We have a hotel booked in Kensington on Cromwell road. There is a possibility that we might have to go back to Wight on Sunday- depending on if we get everything done the first two days or not.

My big issue is catching the train from the Airport to Southampt (we were supposed to have someone pick us up but he just bailed) I dont want to change trains if at all possible.

What do you all suggest?

Also, while in London, we want to see as much as possible- we are power walkers- get up at 6 am and dont go back to the hotel till 9pm and rarely sit down to eat lunch. Do you reccomend the double decker hop-on hop off tour?? (I've always wanted to ride one) or that we do it on our own w/ a bus travelcard?? I would prefer to not have to take the tube if we dont have to, but just in case- do travel cards cover buses and the tube??

I apologize for the multitude of questions. I am a bit neurotic when it comes to traveling, till I get there and then its all good.