We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best way to see London attractions?

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 posts
9 reviews
Save Topic
Best way to see London attractions?

I am an absolute novice when it comes to overseas travel, and I have a disability which affects my ability to do everything, but I get by. I have been given medical permission to have my 1 & only “trip of a lifetime” & my brother is coming with me as my companion/carer/packhorse etc. we are going to England/Scotland & Paris in April/May 2013. And thus far we have booked our flights and accommodation.

I will have to pace myself (pain/physical restrictions) & my brother will go off and do boy things on the days I have to just stay put. We have arranged to stay 3-4 nights in most places we are visiting. London is split into a 3 night stay, then tour around England via train, then a 5 night stay in London again before we head to Paris for 6 nights.

I have a million questions but will try to stick to a few main ones here, if I can! We have a few ideas of things we want to see in the regional areas of England/Scotland, but we are getting a little frazzled (read- I am!) trying to work out the best way to see what we want in London & Paris.

We are debating doing a hop on/off tour when we first get to London, give us a feel for what we want to really see and the lay of the land for seeing as much as we can. I have seen pos/neg comments re the hop on/offs but think it may be a good way to get a snapshot of London- and earmark what we want to go back to in more depth? What do people think?

Then we will be doing regional England & Scotland via train- probably getting a Britrail pass here- thoughts on this idea?