We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beautiful areas of nature, day trip from London

Manchester, United...
Level Contributor
32 posts
Save Topic
Beautiful areas of nature, day trip from London

Hey everyone, I'm an American student currently studying abroad in Manchester for the semester. I've been going on trips around the UK during the weekends and have already visited a lot of places, but not yet London. I bought a ticket to see King Lear at the Globe in mid-May, so I decided to center my London trip around that. I'll have 5 days in London, with the last day mostly all taken up by the show. My plan is to spend the first 3 days exploring London, and then use the 4th day to take a day trip. My preferences are beautiful areas of nature, mountains, lakes, coasts, beaches, etc. Transportation by train or bus is a must, as I won't have a car. Do you have any suggestions? My favorite place in the world so far is the Lake District, if you want to get a feel for the places I enjoy.

Thanks for any help you can give!

Suffolk, United...
Destination Expert
for Cephalonia
Level Contributor
10,689 posts
89 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Beautiful areas of nature, day trip from London

Hi Jon again,

Nothing like the Lake District anywhere near London.

For a daytrip where you want to walk as much as possible I would suggest in the west, Virginia Water or Burnham Beeches. In the east Epping Forest.

You could go further west to Lambourn Downs.

There are lots of other places that people will suggest but remember the further you travel, the less walking you will get in!

Bob

Harrow, United...
Destination Expert
for York
Level Contributor
9,102 posts
43 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Beautiful areas of nature, day trip from London