We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

London for 2 Days - Advice on Hotel Area and Transportation

Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
50 posts
24 reviews
Save Topic
London for 2 Days - Advice on Hotel Area and Transportation

Hi. My husband and I will be in London for two days/nights in May 2014. I have no experience with London, so it's really overwhelming! Can anyone give advice on the best area to stay in for just a short trip like this? We will arrive at Heathrow on Friday morning, and leave from St Pancras Station on Sunday morning.

We are likely to take taxi from hotel to airport, and again from hotel to train station, unless we can line it out so it's easy to take the train (hotel near train depot and easy route). We have never lived in an area where we take trains/subways, so it's a bit frightening to us and we want it to be as easy as possible. Any advice here on where to stay and how to transport would be greatly appreciated!

While there, we plan to do a tour to Stonehenge (and hopefully an English Castle or Manor), and a general city sights tour (either a hop on hop off bus-I saw Harrods and several others- or a more private taxi type tour). Again, any recommendations would be great. Also plan to do Churchill War Rooms, but have not researched beyond that.

Thanks for any advice you can provide!

Vancouver, Canada
Destination Expert
for London
Level Contributor
57,556 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: London for 2 Days - Advice on Hotel Area and Transportation

With just two days in the capital, including a day out to Stonehenge will leave you with essentially one day for sightseeing in London itself; you may wish to rethink that plan.