We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Pancras to Charing cross or

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
137 posts
28 reviews
Save Topic
St Pancras to Charing cross or

Hi i will be arriving from Sheffield to St Pancras on east coast trains. I need to then get to the strand palace hotel. Can anyone please advise me am i better on the underground or another poster suggested catching the 19 bus. Im a complete newbie so i would welcome advice please.

Vancouver, Canada
Destination Expert
for London
Level Contributor
56,196 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: St Pancras to Charing cross or

The number 19 doesn't call at St Pancras, it travels from the Angel through Clerkenwell and on towards Holborn.

The number 91 towards Trafalgar Square will be a far more amenable journey than the Underground. Board the bus at stop A in front of Camden Town Hall (large, grey, unattractive): tfl.gov.uk/gettingaround/maps/buses/pdf/king… Alight at stop U, which will be announced as Savoy Street, for the Strand Palace hotel, which is almost immediately across the road from the bus stop. tfl.gov.uk/gettingaround/maps/buses/pdf/aldw…

London
Destination Expert
for London
Level Contributor
22,195 posts
77 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: St Pancras to Charing cross or

The 59 bus (not the 19) would be best. Get on at St Pancras and off at Lancaster Place/Aldwych - the hotel is diagonally across the street almost opposite Waterloo Bridge.

www.tfl.gov.uk/tfl/gettingaround/maps/buses/…

Or indeed the 91. Reverse the 19!

Edited: 30 September 2013, 22:14
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
137 posts
28 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: St Pancras to Charing cross or

Thanks guys really appreciate the quick reply's. I think i prefer the bus idea to the tube.

Kingston upon...
Level Contributor
94 posts
405 reviews
Save Reply