We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

mobility scooter and shops in York.

Which York hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
united kingdom
Level Contributor
43 posts
8 reviews
Save Topic
mobility scooter and shops in York.

Please can anyone tell me if a small ( 19 inch wide ) mobility scooter would be allowed in shops like Marks & Spencer, Browns, Debenhams , British Home Stores etc, I am visiting York shortly for a holiday, I know York well from previous visits, but, at that time I did not have to use a scooter, I am a very careful driver ! although I can walk shortish distances with the aid of a stick, I would be concerned about leaving the scooter outside the shop in case it got stolen.

Any other advice about York and mobility scooters would be welcome. many thanks.

Essex
Level Contributor
27,033 posts
70 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: mobility scooter and shops in York.

Don't know myself, but these folk might have the answers you need....

http://www.shopmobilityyork.org.uk/

Cambridge, United...
Level Contributor
2,387 posts
280 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: mobility scooter and shops in York.

You should be ok access wise, now this might be my own experience but just watch Debenhams and BHS, as access some parts isn't that good and if the shop don't think they just don't allow enough space. Just be warned, one of the smaller independent department stores has a very small lift, and a cafe where access could be a pickle. I'm afraid I can't remember the name it's in the cobbled area, and I think a house of Fraser branch in that area didn't have a lift some years back.