We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tips to help arrange itinerary

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
11,508 posts
111 reviews
Save Topic
Tips to help arrange itinerary

I am looking at hiring a car at Heathrow and driving up to the Peaks District in mid-late September. Not sure how long I need to fit in everything I would like to do.

I am a keen amateur photographer so taking pictures and wandering cute villages/towns is definitely on my list. I want to visit Lyme Park and Chatsworth. I understand I would need a full day for Chatsworth.

Bakewell seems to be a good place to base myself with a range of accommodation options, and pubs/eateries for dinner.

I am from Melbourne, Australia so want to drive through Melbourne, Derbyshire on my way! From the Peaks District, I will head to visit friends in Sunderland.

- How many nights would you suggest?

- Is staying in Bakewell a good idea, or is there anywhere else you would recommend I stay?

- Are there any particularly picturesque places I should visit or attractions in the area you recommend?

Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
566 posts
77 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Tips to help arrange itinerary