We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Is it wise to cycle from Oxford city to Blenheim and back?

Which Oxford hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Gezer
2 posts
Save Topic
Is it wise to cycle from Oxford city to Blenheim and back?

I'm not a proffetional bicycles rider but it seems to me a good way to feel the countryside.

Oxford, United...
Destination Expert
for Oxford
Level Contributor
950 posts
80 reviews
Save Reply
11. Re: Is it wise to cycle from Oxford city to Blenheim and back?

I'm sorry but I cannot agree with DMidlands above. I have cycled this with absolutely no problems. As other posters have said the route is fine - with the only area of care need being round the Pear Tree roundabout. But again as others have stated - this is not truly a countryside cycle ride as you'll be alongside a dual carriageway for almost the whole trip. Here are some other routes cycle-route.com/routes/Oxfordshire-Routes-97…

U.S. expats
Destination Expert
for Windsor, London
Level Contributor
19,621 posts
199 reviews
Save Reply
12. Re: Is it wise to cycle from Oxford city to Blenheim and back?

Perhaps things are different in Birmingham. But cycling is alive and well, as the many books devoted to cycling in the u.k. and on sale at nearly every bookstore can attest.

Wantage, United...
Level Contributor
1,561 posts
37 reviews
Save Reply
13. Re: Is it wise to cycle from Oxford city to Blenheim and back?

hi,

its an easy ride to blenheim and back, all on cycle tracks, like the above poster`s have said, you have to cross a couple of busy round abouts. much rather cycle to blenheim than in the cotswolds, too many narrow roads and hills for my liking. not to mention the locals and tourists speeding about.