We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stonehenge and Bath

Louisiana
Level Contributor
48 posts
42 reviews
Save Topic
Stonehenge and Bath

Having heard much advice to avoid Stonehenge, we must do it while we are there, so.... If we take early train from London to Stonehenge and do minimal touring there, is it still possible to travel on via train to Bath and do a small amount of sightseeing there? My group is not too big on in-depth sightseeing, but as a history teacher I will have to at least set foot in both places while I am there. It matters not that my group will be on the last train back to London from Bath! Any suggestions or ideas?

Mentioned in this post
Stonehenge
Stonehenge
20 Reviews
Salisbury, UK
Spire Tours
Sightseeing Tours
Salisbury Punting
Historical & Heritage Tours, Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours, Nature & Wildlife Tours, Day Trips
New Forest Walking Adventures
Sightseeing Tours, Walking Tours, Nature & Wildlife Tours
Salisbury, United...
Level Contributor
9,558 posts
141 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Stonehenge and Bath

You can take the train to Salisbury from Waterloo. The bus stops right outside the station, see Stonehenge back to Salisbury station and then on to Bath. As you realise you won't have a great deal of time in Bath but enough to see the Baths and a quick walk around the time. And back to Paddington by train.

Many people think Stonehenge isn't worth it bit it's so unique IMHO it's worth it.

Sadly you will miss Salisbury with its wonderful Cathedral. Another easier trip could be just Salisbury and Stonehenge.

Mentioned in this post
Stonehenge
Stonehenge
20 Reviews
Salisbury, UK
Louisiana
Level Contributor
48 posts
42 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Stonehenge and Bath