We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Snowdon in October

Colchester, England
Level Contributor
30 posts
Save Topic
Snowdon in October

We are two females looking to go up Snowdon in October 2010 (either 16 or 23 Oct). I am a complete beginner to mountain climbing while my friend has climbed Mount Kinabalu in Borneo.

I (naturally) have a few questions and welcome any hints / tips from more seasoned climbers.

a) We are thinking of taking one of the two 'easier' routes up and are currently considering the YHA Hostel in Caernarfon. Would this be a suitable base? We'd also welcome suggestions for accommodation if it is circa £20-£25 per person per night.

b) Would we have time to go up and come down by foot, or would it be more advisable to walk up and take the train down?

c) At the moment we are only a party of two - would you suggest that we find a larger group to join? Are there 'organised tours' or expeditions at the foot of the mountains that we can join?

There's probably more from where that came from, but at the moment, those are my initial queries. Any response is much appreciated.

Idlan

Scunthorpe, United...
Level Contributor
3,583 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Snowdon in October

As a complete beginner to mountain climbing, can I give a few words of warning.

Snowdon is a serious mountain and it can and does kill people.

Any chance of getting a bit of practice in before tackling Snowdon?

Weather is a serious consideration in October. You may be lucky and get glorious weather but it can also be cold and wet. Mountains attract the cloud and rain.