We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

castle coch

devon uk
Level Contributor
112 posts
281 reviews
Save Topic
castle coch

Would like to visit castle coch - can any body recommend a hotel nearby. Reasonable price, but comfortable, car park and dinner .

Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
3,571 posts
47 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: castle coch

HI Pilgrim51

You are literally in my neighbourhood!

There are two main hotels within a few minutes of Castell Coch: The Quality Hotel is within walking distance on the edge of Tongwynlais (where the castle is situated). I've no experience but the reviews are mixed (and my own experience of the Quality chain elsewhere in the past has not been good). Also within (more of a) walking distance or a very short drive is the Village Hotel. It is a much bigger one with an excellent health and fitness club and large swimming pool, sauna, steam room, treatment centre etc, a pub, cafe and a restaurant. The main downside of this hotel seems to be that reviewers feel it is overpriced but it is modern and comfortable and has more facilities. The food in the restuarant on my last experience was fine but nothing to write home about. You do feel as if you are in a modern and comfortable chain.

While you are in the area, I would recommend that you see Cardiff Castle as well as Castell Coch - the latter is really an outpost of the former, rebuilt and remodelled as the summer retreat of the Marquis of Bute who took his fantasies much further in his work on Cardiff Castle. Castell Coch is magically spectacular though in its setting - you have to pinch yourself to remind yourself that you are still in the UK, and not the Loire!