We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First trip, September 2011

San Diego...
Level Contributor
15 posts
25 reviews
Save Topic
First trip, September 2011

We are taking our grown kids for a 2 week trip to London, Dublin and Scotland next September. We plan to spend a week in Scotland. We want to see Edinburgh, but we are interested in exploring our roots (last name Gordon) which would appear to be around Aberdeen. Because there are five of us it would be nice if we could rent a cottage, but my husband is hesitant to drive due to left hand driving. I am a new photographer and interested in beautiful countrysides, which would appear to be available all over the country.

My questions are: does anyone know of rentals close to the train so that we could avoid driving? how easy has it been to convert to left hand driving (all 5 of us are over 25, so maybe my husband rides and the rest of us take turns driving). I have considered staying in Edinburgh and hiring a tour guide to take us, but it would appear Aberdeen would definitely be a two day trip from Edinburgh if we want time to explore the area.

What sites would you say are don't miss, especially from the scenic aspect?

Any help is GREATLY appreciated!

Betsy

Edinburgh
Destination Expert
for Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4,422 posts
29 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: First trip, September 2011