We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thoughts on 2-day trip: Edinburgh, Ft. William, Oban, etc.

Williamsburg...
Level Contributor
12 posts
8 reviews
Save Topic
Thoughts on 2-day trip: Edinburgh, Ft. William, Oban, etc.

After spending 3 days in Edinburgh, we'd like to see the countryside. This is our first time to Scotland. We plan to leave Edinburgh on Mon. at noon (July 18th). We aren't sure when or if we'll ever be back, so admittedly we are trying to cram in a lot. Please advise if this is reasonable.

Neither my husband or I prefer heavily crowded places (though some are inevitable), but I'm a hobby-photographer and artist, so love any great photo opportunities or places for a quick journal sketch. My husband loves scotch, so would love to tour a good distillery or two. We have three kids (not coming) and are Harry Potter fans, so anything related to that would be fun.

Here's our plan:

Ediburgh to Stirling (see castle and village of Killin for photos)

Glencoe - walk, photos, lakes, Harry Potter filming area

Ft. William - not sure what to do here (Distillery?)

Glenfinnan - see railway viaduct (Harry Potter); any way to find out when the Jacobite will be passing over the viaduct?

*possibly stay in Glenfinnan on first night? I think we could realistically arrive here by 8-9pm

Corran - to view Ben Nevis mtn (should we stay on west side of water [A861] and take ferry Ardgour to Corran or drive around on A82?)

Portnacroish - Castle Stalker view; just photo stop

Oban - ??? not sure yet; maybe Oban Distillery

Inverary (or skip this stop) - castle or jail

Loch Lomond - just plan to drive, make a few scenic stops for photos, and continue on; maybe stop at Balloch Castle?