We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

5 day trip

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 posts
9 reviews
Save Topic
5 day trip

Just looking for a bit of advice on an itinerary. We only have 5 days in Scotland and then we are off to Ireland. My wife and I will be planning this trip for late September. I was thinking about using Perth as a base and wondered if that was a good place to set up. I was then thinking about hiring a car and trying to enjoy the little time we have, but not rushed. That might mean not seeing an awful lot, but enjoying what we are able to see. Do you think it is possible from Perth to take day trips to say Sterling, St. Andrews, Glencoe/fort Williams, and then take the train into Edinburgh for the last 2 days? The we will head off from Edinburgh. Like I said this is my first time there, and really do not want to rush too much. If we can't see all that what would you recomend? I would def like to see the countryside and take photos as that is my hobby. Thanks for the help and suggestions guys. Always appreciatd.

East Neuk of Fife...
Destination Expert
for St Andrews
Level Contributor
9,708 posts
171 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 5 day trip

If you based yourselves in Perth it would be quite possible to do the things you mention, especially Stirling (note spelling) and St. Andrews. You are close enough to both to give yourselves time to have a good look round on day trips. Glencoe is also manageable (leave Fort William out)unless there is a special reason for visiting.

So you are hiring a car from Perth and leaving it at Perth - this is good as you have probably already worked out that a car is a hindrance in Edinburgh.