We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Should I drive thru the Angus Glens or around them?

Newtown...
Level Contributor
69 posts
117 reviews
Save Topic
Should I drive thru the Angus Glens or around them?

Hi! We will be driving through the towns of the Royal Deeside....Ballater, etc. We will be staying that night in Forfar so I am trying to figure out if we can drive through the Angus Glens (if so, which route) OR... do we need to drive around the Glens past Braemar and then south and over east to Forfar? I am looking for the most scenic route and don't care which takes longer. I'm a photographer and am looking just to get some strong images, if possible. I think through the Glens would be more scenic but feeling pretty clueless here!

4 replies to this topic
Edinburgh...
Level Contributor
5,099 posts
87 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Should I drive thru the Angus Glens or around them?

http://www.angusglens.co.uk/map/index.php

If you look at this map, you'll see the main glens in the Angus area are NOT through roads. They penetrate northwards into the mountains and then terminate. I know you've been told otherwise on another topic. There are old trackways crossing the mountains north to south, originally used by horses and cattle, now the province of hillwalkers.

The map shows half of an obvious circular route taking you from Blairgowrie past Glenshee, Braemar, down the River Dee, then south to Forfar. You have to go as far east as Banchory before you can cut the corner down to Stonehaven, then take the road to Forfar.

http://goo.gl/maps/pNAc8

Good scenery on this route. Depends if you want touristic shots or something a little more quirky or connected with the landscape. A few suggestions on the described route and also penetrating into a couple of the glens.