We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Solo Trip Report Edinburgh and London Oct 2017

Illinois
Level Contributor
18,869 posts
16 reviews
Save Topic
Solo Trip Report Edinburgh and London Oct 2017

I'm at least going to start this as an ongoing trip report. (I rarely make it through the whole trip as an ongoing report as I either get busy or tired at night.) I'm traveling solo to Edinburgh and then London. I've been to London multiple times, but this is my first time in Edinburgh. (I did have a day in Glasgow and a ltitle under a week in Orkney on a prior trip, but I've never been to the rest of Scotland.)

I usually post each day as a reply. The first night was at Heathrow, so I'll put that in the London forum and then do the Edinburgh days here. Here's a link to the London part of the trip.

https:/…86827160

48 replies to this topic
Illinois
Level Contributor
18,869 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Solo Trip Report Edinburgh and London Oct 2017

Day 2 – 9 Oct 2017

My flight was at 9:15, and I was figuring to be there 2 hours early. I’d recommend allowing at least that much time as security seemed pretty slow. BA had a sign up to go check in your hand luggage, which didn’t make much sense to me. There was no entrance into the line for the hand baggage check, so I got in the bag drop line and asked a staff person and he pulled me out of that line and sent me down to the desk for checking in hand baggage. I think she was supposed to check sizes and give me one of those yellow (?) tags that BA hands out so your bag is guaranteed to go in the cabin with you, but all she did was scan my boarding pass and ask me if I had bags to check. It seemed a little pointless to me.