We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel for 1 weekend night after overseas flight

Which St Andrews hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
alabama
Level Contributor
22 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Hotel for 1 weekend night after overseas flight

Our family flies into Edinburgh late on a Saturday afternoon. I am hoping to rent a car and drive to St. Andrews for 1 night. Can anyone suggest a possible hotel? We will be tired, etc., but my son would like to see the Old Course. Also, any thoughts for dinner, either in St. Andrews or on the way. Thanks to all of you.

Edinburgh, United...
Destination Expert
for Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4,760 posts
240 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Hotel for 1 weekend night after overseas flight

Hi. Where are you headed after that first night?

I am no golf expert, but I think you can walk the old course on a Sunday morning.

I stayed at The Fairmont, which is a stunning regale hotel on a golf course, overlooking the ocean, a few miles out of town. Sumptuous rooms with all mod-cons. They even have American plug outlets, for their American visitors!

The Seafood restaurant is a great introduction to Scottish seafood and gas stunning views over the ocean.

Abs :)

Level Contributor
1,508 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Hotel for 1 weekend night after overseas flight

If you are tired then perhaps driving is not such a great idea. You could stay in Edinburgh and go to St Andrews in the morning.

If you do want to stay in St Andrews near the Old Course have a look at The Scores, Rusacks, Golf Hotel and the Old Course Hotel.

And yes you can walk the course on a Sunday as it is closed to players

Edinburgh
Destination Expert
for St Andrews
Level Contributor
1,600 posts
29 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Hotel for 1 weekend night after overseas flight