We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wild Camping in Isle of Skye

London, United...
Level Contributor
88 posts
52 reviews
Save Topic
Wild Camping in Isle of Skye

Hi Guys,

I have never done a wild camping before (though I have done camping a number of times). I read and heard Isle of Skye is also considered as a good spot for wild camping.

Has anyone got experience in this. Can anyone recommend me any good wild camping places to pitch a tent and try wild camping?

As of now I have plans to stay some place close to Sligichan, but if anyone has any recommendation for me near Sligachan or some place else, I will be more than happy.

Cheers,

Aanchal

Manchester, United...
Destination Expert
for The Hebrides
Level Contributor
6,901 posts
65 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Wild Camping in Isle of Skye

From Sligachan you can walk south into the Back Cuillin, and you'll find good spots. Just keep well away from roads and habitation.

glasgow
Destination Expert
for Scotland
Level Contributor
3,767 posts
405 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Wild Camping in Isle of Skye

Countless places but it depends how you plan on getting around,how far you want to walk with your gear and also what areas you want to see.Also best to be somewhere with good water access from a burn etc.unless you want to carry water in (heavy). Also, there's a lot of boggy ground everywhere on Skye so you have to scout around a bit in any area you fancy.