We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Exploring Ireland self-drive tours

PA
1 post
Save Topic
Exploring Ireland self-drive tours

My husband and I are thinking of taking a self-guided tour of Ireland in May of 2010. Has anyone ever used Exploring Ireland's self-guided tours? Will you please give us the highs and lows of this company?

Western Ireland...
Destination Expert
for Southport, Connemara, County Clare, Portumna
Level Contributor
18,926 posts
56 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Exploring Ireland self-drive tours

I am assuming you mean the Self Drive option. I have no knowledge of the operation but it appears they plan your route and accommodation, this takes away the role of TA to a degree as they have it planned for you. If you know the accommodations they use you could ask peoples opinions on these. Personally I think the planning is a key part of the holiday experience and having looked at a couple of the outlines I would prefer my own agenda.

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 posts
30 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Exploring Ireland self-drive tours

We are using them for our trip May 2010. Guess we'll see.

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
15 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Exploring Ireland self-drive tours

We don't have experience with that company, but whatever you do, avoid Dan Dooley - see our post for Dan Dooley Car Rental RIP OFF!!

Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 post
41 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Exploring Ireland self-drive tours