We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Converting electronics for use in Ireland

Waterford, New York
Level Contributor
24 posts
Save Topic
Converting electronics for use in Ireland

Has anyone ever tried plugging in a US power strip into a voltage converter to power up your phones, ipods, ipads etc... Someone in radio shack said this will work? thanks

Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
259 posts
24 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Converting electronics for use in Ireland

I have never tried a power strip before...I usually just use a voltage converter only and charge one thing at a time.

Nebraska
Level Contributor
516 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Converting electronics for use in Ireland

If you use the appropriate voltage converter I don't see why it wouldn't work. If you use a plug adapter that could be a problem but I am not sure. Converters and adapters look the same. Unless you get a reputable converter I have heard they are prone to problems. I have never had a problem with an adapter on dual voltage devices charging one device at a time. I have never used a converter.

Cork
Level Contributor
148 posts
115 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Converting electronics for use in Ireland

Chargers for phones, laptops, ipads etc are usually dual voltage. If this is the case there is no issue using them in Ireland.

Dual Voltage Device will have the following marking:

INPUT 100 - 240V 50-60Hz

Edited: 02 August 2011, 14:34
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4,586 posts
184 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Converting electronics for use in Ireland