We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Is it safe for a woman to travel alone through Ireland???

4 posts
Save Topic
Is it safe for a woman to travel alone through Ireland???

I have always wanted to travel to Ireland, I am recently separated and feel this would be a great time to clear my mind and also gets some great pictures as I am a photographer as well, however I do have some concerns about traveling alone, any specific tours that allow some freedom but are also safe for someone on their own?

england
Level Contributor
5,438 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Is it safe for a woman to travel alone through Ireland???

You must have a strange idea of Ireland if you think you need to be on a tour to be safe, you would be perfectly OK on your own, and would meet the locals a lot easier, but if you like tours, take one.

My daughter first started going to Ireland by herself when she was 17, she now lives (by herself) in an isolated spot just outside Dingle town, she rarely locks her doors or car, and sometimes goes off for three days camping in the mountains.

Yes some commonsense is needed anywhere in the world, dont get drunk and lie in the gutter, someone may tread on you.

Dublin
Level Contributor
3,297 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Is it safe for a woman to travel alone through Ireland???

I agree with Fusciagirl - you don't need take a tour to be safe. In any event, I very much doubt if a tour would give you the kind of flexibility (timewise and locationwise) you need to get good photographs. Ireland is a relatively safe country for residents and for visitors. It's not perfect and noblody can guarantee absolute safety, but as Fusciagirl says, if you use common sense, you'll be fine on your own - and hopefully get some great photographs.

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 posts