We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

speaking Irish

Colorado
Level Contributor
166 posts
55 reviews
Save Topic
speaking Irish

To prepare for our trip to Ireland, I am studying the Irish language.

Will there be an opportunity to speak it?

Is it considered polite and friendly to do so?

My husband says no need, as everyone speaks English.

1. Re: speaking Irish

-:- Message from TripAdvisor staff -:-

This post has been removed at the author's request. The author may post again if desired.

Posts on the TripAdvisor forums may be edited for a short period of time. Once the edit period has expired, authors may update their posts by removing and reposting them.

To read more about editing your posts, please follow this link: http://www.tripadvisor.com/help/how_to_edit_your_posts

Removed on: 30 April 2013, 03:38
Edited: 30 April 2013, 03:38
Ventry, Ireland
Destination Expert
for Dingle Peninsula
Level Contributor
7,223 posts
121 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: speaking Irish

There is no need to learn Irish to be polite. Your husband is correct in that all Irish people speak English. In fact few speak Irish with any fluency. There are some isolated areas (Dingle peninsula, parts of Connemara and Donegal particularly) where Irish is still the community language

When you say you are learning Irish, do you mean some standard phrases or taking language classes?

3. Re: speaking Irish

This post has been removed at the author's request. The author may post again if desired.

Posts on the TripAdvisor forums may be edited for a short period of time. Once the edit period has expired, authors may update their posts by removing and reposting them.

To read more about editing your posts, please follow this link: http://www.tripadvisor.com/help/how_to_edit_your_posts

Removed on: 30 April 2013, 04:39