We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

How to get through Irish immigration?

Claremont...
1 post
Save Topic
How to get through Irish immigration?

Hi,

I am a college student from America, and a U.S. Citizen. I know that I don't require a visa to travel to Ireland for up to 3 months. I need to stay in Ireland (Dublin) for 2 months this summer because I have an internship.

I spoke to the girl who had my same internship last year, and she told me to avoid telling immigration that I have an internship at all and to just tell them that I am visiting friends or family, because when she tried to explain her internship, they didn't understand that it was unpaid and were asking her to apply for a work permit.

I can provide a bank statement with enough money to show I can support myself, evidence of a return ticket, the address of where I plan to stay, and an official letter stating my internship offer and the dates of the internship. The only confusing element is that while the internship is unpaid, an organization affiliated with my college is giving me a 4,000 dollar stipend.

What should I do? Should I try to explain my situation (that I have an internship for 6 weeks and then plan to do touristy things for 2 weeks) or should I just claim to be vacationing for 8 weeks?

Mentioned in this post
Dublin
Dublin
County Dublin, Ireland
Aquaventures
Sightseeing Tours, Boat Tours, Dolphin & Whale Watching, Scuba & Snorkeling
My Ireland Tour
Sightseeing Tours, City Tours, Cultural Tours, Multi-day Tours
Destination Expert
for Dublin
Level Contributor
3,261 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: How to get through Irish immigration?

This is a travel forum so people here are not immigration experts, it would be better to check the Irish government immigration websites