We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

trip report

Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
10,456 posts
42 reviews
Save Topic
trip report

I'll try and make some sense of this trip report I'm not good at these things....

On 4/30 we left Spokane on Alaska air lines at 6am and flew to Seattle for our plane to ORD, I was going on Alaska frequent flyer miles so had no choice of my route. Everything went well to ORG we had a 3 hour lay over which we spent in the admiral lounge so much more comfortable then sitting and waiting at the gate.

We were to go on AA to Dublin but had to wait an extra hour for some kind of plane maintenance, we boarded an hour late but arrived in Dublin just a few minutes late.

We had booked a rental car at Budget airport and had no problems there in fact they gave us a free upgrade to a jeep, later I found out what a mistake that was in taking a bigger car and I should have known better, a tiny Volkswagen would be the way to go. We did get a GPS which I would highly recommend even if we did get lost a lot.

We drove to Trim Castle hotel which I had booked for 2 nights by the time we got there I was to tired to go anywhere so we ate dinner in their restaurant and it was quite good.

The next day we drove to Newgrange and only had to wait 1/2 hour to take the tour it is worth the visit. We drove back to the hotel ate a bit of lunch and took a tour of Trim castle, our tour guide was very entertaining and knowledgeable she took time to answer our questions and didn't hurry us through.