We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1st trip to Ireland-please critique

Philadelphia...
Level Contributor
20 posts
Save Topic
1st trip to Ireland-please critique

This is my first time posting...and I would appreciate feedback. I have read the forums for months, and tried my best to put this trip together. My husband and I are planning a trip, leaving Philadelphia May 30, 2014 and arriving in Shannon May 31. We plan on renting a car ( my husband is a professional driver and has no issues with this) Need to decide on a rental company still-but that's another topic. First stop, Bunratty Castle, for walking around, viewing, maybe eating, but no medieval feast. Plan to drive on to Galway on this first day. Unsure if 2 or 3 days needed in Galway-want to see Connemara National Park, Cliffs of Moher, and possibly Iran Islands and Ashford Castle if time permits. Next stop-Killarney-2 nights-want to see Killarney National Park, Muckross House/gardens, Torc Waterfall, Ring of Kerry, and Dingle Peninsula if time permits.(should I add a day here and just do 2 in Galway?) Next stop-Cork-want to see the markets, Rock of Cashel and Waterford. Do I need a closer night, maybe in Kilkenny to see these too-or should we do 2 nights in Cork? Onto Dublin for 2 nights-want to see Trinity College-Book of Kells, the Guinness Tour and Jameson Estate. We will be returning the car in Dublin. We then plan on taking the ferry from Dublin to London, and the train to Paris for 3 days before we fly home, but that again is another forum. Is this plan doable-I know it may be a little rushed, but we only have 2 weeks vacation to do it all! It is a birthday present to us both, my husband celecrating his 50th, and me celebrating my 60th. Oh, and of course as inexpensively as possible.

North Coast, N...
Destination Expert