We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Young female staying in a hostel alone-- bad idea?

USA
6 posts
Save Topic
Young female staying in a hostel alone-- bad idea?

Hello everyone,

I am trying to come up with a place to visit and explore. I am also considering Spain. One day, I would love to go to Russia and Papua New Guinea.

Would it be safe for a young (24 year old, single, white) female to stay in a hostel in Dublin alone? I am considering going either for New Year's, or for St. Patrick's Day 2008.

The only overseas vacation that I have gone on alone, sadly, is Japan. I have gone with groups to Austria, Switzerland, Italy, and Germany. Thus, I am not very experienced in overseas travel.

I have never stayed in a hostel.

I would imagine that I would take guided tours around Dublin and surrounding areas.

About me: from Washington, D.C. Previously lived in New York City. 24 years old.

Should I even think about staying in a hostel in Dublin alone?

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Young female staying in a hostel alone-- bad idea?

Most of the hostels in Dublin are not in the best neighbourhoods and are also in the heart of the city centre. I personally, living in Dublin all my life, wouldn't recommend a single woman to stay in a hostel on her own.

Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6,414 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Young female staying in a hostel alone-- bad idea?

No-one can guarantee that something bad won't happen to anyone at any time. You could get attacked anywhere, but you don't stop living on the chance of it. You are an adult, you actually have quite a lot of travel experience. There is no reason why you would not stay in a hostel alone in Dublin, using the same common sense that you would use at home.