We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

I will never rent from Dan Dooley's again

Miami
Level Contributor
228 posts
38 reviews
Save Topic
I will never rent from Dan Dooley's again

I just wanted to let everybody know about my experience with renting a car from Dooley's. I will never rent from them again. My husband and I had arranged for a stick shift car rental from Dooley's. We were to have the car for about 2 weeks and we got the full insurance.

My car in the States is a stick shift. I have been driving stick shift for the past 20 years. I know how to drive a stick.

When we got to Dooley's they told us that they were going to give us a slightly bigger car than we had arranged. Although at first I thought this wasn't such a great thing since the roads are so small, I had no complaints since usually the larger the car is the more expensive and so I figured it was like I'm getting a free upgrade.

Once we got in the car I wanted to drive the car around a little bit in the parking lot, since I don't normally drive on the left hand side of the road. But this wasn't completely strange to me since I have, in the past, driven a stick on the left hand side of the road. In other words, I have some experience with the stick shift being on my left. And never before have I had any problems.

As I drove in the parking lot the car did stall twice, maybe three times. If you drive stick you know this is no big deal. My husband normally drives automatic but sometimes we switch cars and then he drives my stick. He routinely will stall out a couple of times in the beginning. It happens all the time. It is no big deal. It does no major damage to the car at all. It is just what happens if you are a little rusty with a stick.