We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Solo 20 y/o female traveler

Which Galway hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Rome, Italy
4 posts
Save Topic
Solo 20 y/o female traveler

Hello guys,

I'm a 20 year old female American student but I attend university in Rome. I have been traveling around europe for a few years now but have yet to do a solo trip. I was thinking about doing one this October either in the middle of the month or at the end (Halloween) to Galway. I've heard nothing but great things about it. I have a good head on my shoulders, so I'm not too worried safety wise. But, besides having a good time, I would really like to see the sites.

Do you guys recommend Galway to be my first solo trip? Is this a good time of year? Will I have a hard time navigating the city or meeting people while I'm there for a few nights? Should I do a tour group while there? Any advice or tips would be helpful as I would like to plan this trip soon! Thanks in advance!

Cork, Ireland
Destination Expert
for Cork
Level Contributor
2,980 posts
71 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Solo 20 y/o female traveler

Have you worked out how to get there?

Galway from Rome is going to be a bit of a pain as the only Irish airport with flights to Rome at the moment is Dublin and that involves 3 hours on a bus after arriving. If that doesn't daunt you, then I'd say the following.

Do you guys recommend Galway to be my first solo trip?

It has a lot of advantages for a first solo trip. It's English-speaking and fairly safe.

Is this a good time of year?