We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

One night for Students

Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
One night for Students

I'm an American student studying in the UK, and I'm taking my German boyfriend to Manchester when he comes to visit me in April. Any ideas on inexpensive eats, drinks, and fun for students?

Greater Manchester...
Level Contributor
464 posts
58 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: One night for Students

There are so many inexpensive places to eat and drink. The Footage on Oxford Road is great for cheap drinks and some decent food but this is not the only place. Font Bar just off Oxford Rd near Thirsty Scholar and Grand Central, does food and drinks are reasonable prices, most cocktails £2-3 and the atmosphere here is nice. There are a few other bars along the same street as Font but I cannot comment as I have not visited them in a long time.

The Printworks is also a good place to go, a little more expensive for food but here you will find places from Chinese all you can eat buffet to Hard Rock Cafe. There is also a bar here called Illusions that do 2-4-1 cocktails during the week and they have live entertainment including an illusionist.

If you fancy somewhere more unique and are willing to spend a little more money, try the Northern Quarter. Depending on when you go, most places do offers on cocktails during the week and early evenings.

If you have any more questions just ask, and I hope you enjoy your trip!

Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: One night for Students

Wow, this was so wonderful and helpful! I'll let you know if I think of more questions.

Thanks so much!

manchester
Destination Expert
for Manchester
Level Contributor
635 posts
209 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: One night for Students