We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Airport Cab or Train?

Nazareth...
Level Contributor
51 posts
5 reviews
Save Topic
Airport Cab or Train?

I am taking a football holiday next week in Manchester. This is my first time visiting and wanted to know if someone could tell me the approx cab cost from the airport to Salford Quays where I am staying.

A friend recommended taking the train to the Piccadelly station then getting a cab from there. Thank you for any suggestions

Manchester, United...
Level Contributor
2,882 posts
138 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Airport Cab or Train?

Hi,

Black cab from the airport to Salford Quays would be around £25. A pre-booked private hire would be cheaper, guessing at around £18-20. They will give you a price when booking.

There are several trains an hour from the airport to Manchester Piccadilly. The fare is just a few pounds. A taxi from Piccadilly black cab taxi rank to Salford Quays would be about £8-10. You can also get a tram from Piccadilly to Salford Quays for £2.50 (any tram with either Eccles or MediaCityUK on the front).

Hope that helps.

Pete

Manchester, United...
Level Contributor
99 posts
240 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Airport Cab or Train?

FYI - If you get a taxi from Manchester airport they add 0.70p to your fare as an Airport levy and sometimes another 0.20p as a fuel levy (added if the price of fuel gets above a certain point).

Often the driver will try and add more to the fare - argue the point. I've had them add up to 2 pounds and had various excuses like "my finger has arthritis and it just slipped" to "we're taking the council to court to get more money when picking up people from the airport". This deceit got very frequent in the last 12 months with almost half of the taxi's I get into at the airport trying to add more to the fare.