We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manchester Landmarks

Which Manchester hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Macclesfield...
1 post
Save Topic
Manchester Landmarks

Hello everyone,

I am a Second Year Media Student looking to produce a promotional film for the City of Manchester, I am not 100% familiar with the city and I was looking to seek some advice for any notable landmarks, man made structures or anything else loosely 'cultural' that I can find in and around the City Centre, that would look nice on film.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Manchester, United...
Destination Expert
for Pollenca, Port de Pollenca
Level Contributor
7,846 posts
54 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Manchester Landmarks

Here's some for 'starters' (and there's plenty more in the city centre) -

Town Hall, Midland Hotel, Bridgewater Hall, Manchester Central (formerly GMEX), Free Trade Hall (it's now Radisson Edwardian Hotel), Royal Exchange (the inside of it, not the outside), Barton Arcade, John Rylands Library, Beetham Tower, Museum of Science & Industry (including the historic railway station there), Coronation Street.

Given that football is part of the 'culture', you could include Old Trafford & Etihad Stadiums though both are slightly outside the city centre; and close by Old Trafford are Imperial War Museum and Lowry Gallery/Theatre.

Manchester, United...
Level Contributor
5,976 posts
83 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Manchester Landmarks

If by the "City of Manchester" you mean the area covered by that council then I'll be pedantic - Old Trafford (district, football & cricket grounds) are all in the the Borough of Trafford as is the Imperial War Museum North and the Lowry Centre is in the City of Salford - all depends on the definition you're working to.