We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Itineraries for 2 week trip

New Orleans
Level Contributor
11 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Itineraries for 2 week trip

This is my first time ever posting anything- so i am very new at this!

My husband and another couple are planning a 14 or 15day trip to France. This is our first time and we are interested in seeing the history, gardens, food, culture- a variety.

Here is a sample of what we would like to see: (we need to know if logistically this will work- we don't want too many one night stops- we want to use the train to certain "bases" and then rent a car)

Paris-3 or 4 nights

Rouen or Bayeaux- 1night (visit Giverny-Normandy)

Mt. St. Michel- 1 night

Amboise- 3 nights (visit Chateaux)

Sarlat- 3 nights (visit caves, Rocamadour )

This totals 11 or 12 nights- where can we add more time? Would like to see St. Emillion and Carcassonne? Can either of these work? or are they too much?

Should we fly in and out of Paris or do we save time and trouble by flying out of Toulouse or Bordeaux ? Where do we rent the car?

We would love any help we can get!

San Francisco...
Level Contributor
7 posts
34 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Itineraries for 2 week trip

Hi Chiquitina!

Like you, I am new to TripAdvisor. =) I am also planning my 1st trip to Europe (Paris, Venice & Florence) so unfortunately I do not have any first-hand experience to give you. However, I did read (Rick Steves guide and various travel websites) that if you're vising multiple cities its better to fly "open jaw" -- fly into one city and fly out of another.

Happy planning and have a safe, fun, memorable trip!

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
36,915 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Itineraries for 2 week trip

Keep these things in mind as you plan: