We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driving in france

Watford, United...
6 posts
Save Topic
Driving in france

Hi, Im going to france by ferry will be porting at calais. this is my first time driving in Europe and Im a little bit nervous about that but really want to do. Im staying in Saint Malo. Any advises really appreciate. What is the best route to take? Are there any nice places to see before go to saint malo?

Eiffel Tower Summit Priority Access...
503 Reviews
from US$72.60*
Likely To Sell Out
Moulin Rouge Show Paris
3,185 Reviews
from US$108.90*
Skip the Line: Eiffel Tower...
790 Reviews
from US$123.90*
Skip the Line: Eiffel Tower Tour and...
628 Reviews
from US$73.90*
Level Contributor
29,423 posts
69 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Driving in france

Guess that you are taking your own car from the UK, so remember to keep RIGHT once you get to France - worth putting a sticker on your steering wheel or Dash when you are on the ferry (then once home, remember to keep LEFT - sometimes I find that even more difficult to remember!!)

Overtaking is more difficult as the driver will be sitting to the inside of the lane in our RHD cars, you need a reliable front seat passenger that you can trust implicitly to help you with this.

Lots of information on Driving in France here, with all the documentation and equipment that you MUST take with you, clearly listed. MAKE SURE that you have all your original documents. I make several sets of photocopies of mine, I take one or 2 sets of photocopies with me, leave a couple at home, and also have them all scanned in to my computer. At least that way if you are unlucky enough to loose the originals, you still have all the numbering and other important details to hand.