We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

21days in Europe! How to plan

1 post
Save Topic
21days in Europe! How to plan

So im heading to Europe (ie. Amsterdam, Munich, Rome & Paris) (in order)in late September early October this yr. Im from brisbane, Australia & travelling for 21days. Im looking to travel via trains & stay in low cost hotels, I have pd my plane tickets & saved at least half my spending $. Is there any advice you can provide me with as this is my first time going overseas. Any sort of advice re: this trip will be much appreciated. I love adventure, food & experiencing different cultures. So any tips on some great places not to miss - would be lovely. Thankyou.

England, United...
Level Contributor
4,806 posts
37 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 21days in Europe! How to plan

The first piece of advice regarding train travel: book with each country's individual rail network. You will often see RailEurope crop up when doing a search. I am not knocking the company but this is an agency and you will pay over the odds for tickets.

For France, www.sncf.com/en (the "en" will take you to the English speaking site)

There used to be a separate site for TGV (high speed trains) but the sncf site now covers everything

For expert train travel help, I suggest that you post your query on the separate Train Travel Forum. The people there are much more experienced and will point you in the right direction as regards travel in the other countries you mention.

Bellflower...
Level Contributor
5,005 posts
20 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: 21days in Europe! How to plan

Taryn,

Welcome to TA.