We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driving Advice for Corsica

Cardiff, United...
2 posts
Save Topic
Driving Advice for Corsica

Hi!

My boyfriend and I are going to Corsica in May, and after looking around it seems that we cannot really rely on public transport to get us anywhere. I've been driving for 5 years but I'm only 21, and a little nervous about driving in a foreign country for the first time - I'm from England where we drive on the left and I've heard some horror stories about Mediterranean drivers.

Do you have any advice for driving in another country? Are there any online driving simulators or anything similar that you know about that I could use? And the big one - are foreign drivers really as bad as people say they are?

Thanks in advance for any replies! :)

London, United...
Level Contributor
884 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Driving Advice for Corsica

It's fine once you get used to it, especially in a rental car with the steering wheel on the correct side. The danger points are - leaving the rental car park/getting off the ferry; on empty country roads with no other traffic to remind you what side you should be on; turning into (empty) junctions or roundabouts. And take care first thing next morning when you get back in the car - you'll have forgotten to concentrate on what side you're on. Traffic lights can be in different places than you're used to, though this is much better than it used to be, thanks to the EU.

As for foreign, or specifically, Corsican, drivers - the less said the better. They will want to overtake you; let them.

France
Level Contributor
332 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Driving Advice for Corsica