We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Paris Guidebook

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
Best Paris Guidebook

It's our (my sister and I's) first trip to Paris and I am so confused with all the guide books available at the bookstore. Which one/s would you recommend for a first-timer -- detailed enough (to give background on the sights) but very handy? Thanks so much!

SFpeninsula
Level Contributor
2,220 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Best Paris Guidebook

Trixie -

I don't believe that there is one "best" guide book

for Paris. This September will be my 6th visit

to Paris since 2000 and I am still learning things

from variouis sources.

Might I suggest you get on the web and look up everything

from a map of Paris to the bides.

Which book might be best for you depends on your

interests in Paris. Here are a few things on which you may

want to focus:

Hotels

Restaurants

Monuments

Gardens

Churches

History

Art

Music

etc.

Glean general information at the library in their

books, check out CD's or DVD's.

I like DK Eyewitness but would never bring it along,

it's way too heavy. At one time I refered to Michelin,

Rick Steve's and Footprint Paris. There are many

others.

Find out about the qualities of the Left Bank and

the Right Bank. Make a decision and start looking

at which arrondisement you might want to stay in.

Check out the hotels there and make a reservation.

How many days will you be in Paris and what do

you want to see. Make a list and start planning

your days. User a map so you don't back track.

Please leave some time to just be ! Smell the flowers

and a great cup of coffee several times.

I know quite a few people who have fallen in love

with Paris. Odds are you will be back.

How do I know ? The odds are in my favor once again;