We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

taking photos in paris

Which Paris hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
australia
Level Contributor
105 posts
6 reviews
Save Topic
taking photos in paris

we are in paris for a week in september. i am a keen photographer and plan to take my camera kit and tripod on all outings. what are the restrictions like in using tripods in the major attractions like eiffel tower, arc de triomphe, saint chapelle etc ? I also plan to take a lot of people shots in the streets .

SFpeninsula
Level Contributor
2,220 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: taking photos in paris

giveup,

I am a professional photographer for 38 years and have

spent 5 Septembers in Paris (2000-2005) photographing

for my upcoming book.

I definitely recommend that you DO NOT bring a

tripod. It will be dangerous for you and the many

people around you. If you must shoot in low light

or need to steady your camera, if you use film:

buy 400, 800 or 1600 ISO film. If you are shooting

digital, set the camera's "ISO" to400, 800 or 1600.

My shutter speed was 1/60th of a second for almost

all of my images with both short and long focal

length lenses.

There is a legal restriction about photographing

people in France.

One of the Paris residents should respond to this.

I don't mean to throw water on your parade

but you need to know and consider these

issues before arriving in Paris.

You might look in the upper left hand corner of the

page and enter "photography" in the search box

and press go for a lot of posts on this subject.

Best Wishes

Paris, France
Level Contributor
1,287 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: taking photos in paris