We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Need help understanding customs, duties, & claiming items

Canton, MI
Level Contributor
194 posts
Save Topic
Need help understanding customs, duties, & claiming items

I am new to international travel and have several ?'s about customs & duties:

1) Do I need to claim items such as cameras & camcorders when I leave USA or do I need to bring a receipt to claim ownership/purchase from USA to avoid problems when I come back from Paris?

2) How do I "claim" any items I might bring back from Paris (e.g., wine, cheese, souvenirs, etc.)?

3) How do duty-free shops work in Paris? How do I avoid or get reimbursed for duties/taxes?

I've got ~1 week to prepare & would appreciate any advice.

USA
Level Contributor
28,262 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Need help understanding customs, duties, & claiming items

Unless it is an expensive item and pretty much brand new, there's really no need to carry receipts. But if the item is both expensive and brand new, it might not be a bad idea to photocopy the receipts and carry them with you--just in case. Most US Customs inspectors can pick up even the least noticeable signs of wear 'n tear from items. While to pay the excess duty on a watch a few years ago, a veteran Customs inspector gave me 'short course' on what, where and how they look for things to initially determine whether some items are brand new or have been owned and used for a while.

You simply follow the instructions on the Declaration form. You might want to check with the Customs web site for their '..Know Before You Go..' brochure and other information-- www.customs.ustreas.gov/xp/cgov/travel/