We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

An unusual request for advice -- what to cook?

Lawndale, California
Level Contributor
665 posts
6 reviews
Save Topic
An unusual request for advice -- what to cook?

Hello all. I've got a weird request -- I'll be staying in an apartment in the Marais in November. My first morning, I'll be going to the market at the Bastille. I want to get ingredients there to cook a French meal for myself at the apartment, but I'm not sure what to cook. I'm a decent cook with a recipe, but not good at elaborate items. I do want to get the full cutting-chopping-multi-ingredient experience, though. Any suggestions? Merci!

Eiffel Tower Summit Priority Access...
548 Reviews
from US$72.50*
Skip the Line: Eiffel Tower Tour and...
658 Reviews
from US$73.80*
Likely To Sell Out
Moulin Rouge Show Paris
3,213 Reviews
from US$121.30*
Eiffel Tower and Louvre Museum...
821 Reviews
from US$123.80*
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22,691 posts
107 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: An unusual request for advice -- what to cook?

Truly good french cusine always features what is in season.

Go to market and see what looks good.

Also, I always think good ingredients , simply but well prepared are very typical of the average french persons cusine( that they do themselves at home) I only base this on my relatives and friends, perhaps they are freaks though,, LOL

A nice rosemary roasted chicken with some roasted winter veggies, a few nice cheeses , good bread ( of course) .. poke around and see whats out.

PS.. I like to start to eat oysters again in the late fall, they are best between Nov and late March,, in my opinion only,,

Another fave of mine is the tiny haricot verts( really thin tiny green beans) that we don't seem to get here, they are lovely with a bit of butter and garlic..