We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Train to Bayeux for Normandy D-Day Tour

Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
90 posts
79 reviews
Save Topic
Train to Bayeux for Normandy D-Day Tour

Hello! I am traveling to England on June 5th with my daughter, 17, and son, 13. We will be taking the Eurostar down to Paris for the week of June 18-25th. My daughter and I have been to Paris twice before but this will be my son's first visit and he's very excited. He's a WWII history buff and it's a dream of his to visit the Normandy beaches and I'm surprising him with a day trip there during our week in Paris.

Even though I've been to Paris before, our train experience is somewhat limited. We used the metro system a handful of times but I'm no expert. We're also going to Versailles on another day on this trip but that seems easy compared to what it will take logistically to get from the Luxembourg station on the B RER line to Bayeux, France.

I have done a little research on the Paris By Train site and I've found that we want to be on the 7:07 train departing St. Lazarus. I'm thinking we will take the Luxembourg RER to the Chatelet-Les Halles station where we will transfer to the metro line (dark purple, I think, on my metro guide) that will take us to St. Lazarus. Do I have the general plan right? How much time should we allow to get to St. Lazarus? I was thinking of catching the metro/RER train at Luxembourg at 6:00am. Would that give us adequate time to be ready and waiting for the 7:07 St. Lazarus train?