We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Location, location... location?

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 posts
8 reviews
Save Topic
Location, location... location?

Hello lovely tripadvisor community!

I'm in the midst of choosing between two hotels for my upcoming summer trip to Paris.

Though I've traveled in Europe before, it's my first time in the city of lights, so I'm a bit confused as to where the "best" place to stay might be.

Right now I have it narrowed down to two choices:

1. The Royal Magda (mere steps from the Arc de Triomphe)

tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g187147-d228809…

2. The Agora Saint Germain (close-ish to Notre Dame)

tripadvisor.com/…REVIEWS

Any francophile care to weigh in on these options??

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25,525 posts
81 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Location, location... location?

I would go for Notre Dame. The Arc is at the head of the Champs Elysees which is not an area I want to spend much time on. It is a beautiful street lined with the same old same old big box stores you can see anywhere in the world, including 6 blocks from my home in Chicago, as well as overpriced tourist traps and on the side streets very very expensive hotels. Just not a very attractive place to stay in Paris. (there are areas into the l7th not far from the Arc that are nicer to stay, but not well located for a first trip.

Notre Dame is the heart of the city -- the river is gorgeous to walk along at night with the city lit up and there are loads of wonderful neighborhoods, restaurants etc within an easy stroll. (and also tons of tourists and tourist oriented business, so you do need to do a little homework on restaurants). It is also within easy walking distance of many of the main museums and tourists sites.