We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

2014 Information needed on Credit Cards in Paris

Which Paris hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Minneapolis...
Level Contributor
177 posts
74 reviews
Save Topic
2014 Information needed on Credit Cards in Paris

I have read many posts extensively and in my opinion, have done my research. Most answers I am finding to my questions, were not posted very recently.

I have 2 debit cards I am bringing to Paris for the sake of withdrawing money from the ATM machines.

I have a MasterCard with a strip...not a chip. I do not intend to use this in machines, rather possibly at restaurants or stores. Does the card need to be chipped in order to use it at one place or the other? Please let me know. I do have time to order a chipped card. Thanks.

Boston...
Level Contributor
12,883 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 2014 Information needed on Credit Cards in Paris

No, I use both my debit card and credit card in stores, restaurants and ATMs in Paris with no problem.

Edited: 03 September 2014, 01:00
Le Bugue, France
Level Contributor
14,097 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: 2014 Information needed on Credit Cards in Paris

No, you don't need a chipped card. And there are hundreds of very recent posts here on TA about exactly this matter - perhaps you aren't using the search function properly. It's discussed at length almost every day.

At any rate, you needn't worry.

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
2,605 posts
61 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: 2014 Information needed on Credit Cards in Paris

You will have no problems in stores or restaurants. The one place you may have an issue is if you try purchasing metro tickets through a machine so make sure you have cash for that just in case.